Enhancing cooperation among the Prague Process states

Select your language

As of 2018, the following 50 states are participants of the Prague Process: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo*, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Moldova, Romania, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

The Republic of Belarus became part of the Process in December 2010.

In the period 2009-2010, the Process was led by the Czech Republic, supported by Hungary, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia. Following the Senior Officials’ Meeting in December 2010 the leadership was handed over to Poland, which led the Process up until the end of the Prague Process Targeted Initiative in 2017. Since the second half of 2017, the Process is led collectively by the Strategic Group, which consists of the Czech Republic, Poland, Lithuania, Hungary, the European Commission, and a country presiding in the EU at a specific point in time. As of 2021, the Czech Republic is charing the Prague Process Strategic Group.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Prague Process is
a targeted migration dialogue among the countries of the European Union, Schengen Area, Eastern Partnership, Western Balkans, Central Asia, Russia and Turkey.
Prague Process E-Learning Platform
Online tool for safe-paced learning