Enhancing cooperation among the Prague Process states

Select your language

07 December 2018

Programme Documents

The Prague Process Action Plan 2012-2016 was adopted at the Second Prague Process Ministerial Conference, held in Poznan in the framework of the Polish EU Presidency in 2011. The Action Plan sets six priority areas for cooperation among the states-participants of the Process:

  • Preventing and combating illegal migration
  • Promote readmission, voluntary return and sustainable reintegration
  • Legal migration and mobility, with special emphasis on labour migration
  • Promote the integration of migrants legally residing in host societies
  • Make migration and mobility positive forces of development
  • Strengthening of capacities in the field of asylum and international protection

All further actions and projects are built around these six thematic areas. Given the different geographical, migratory and socio-economic situations of the states-participants of the Process, each state participates in the implementation of the different actions  on a voluntary basis.

The Action Plan was adopted for the period of five years from 2012 until 2016, but as per decision of the Third Prague Process Ministerial Conference in 2016, the validity of the six thematic areas was reconfirmed for the next mandate period (2016-2021). 


The Prague Process Action Plan 2012-2016 was drafted and adopted by all states-participants of the Prague Process at the Second Prague Process Ministerial Conference.
Prague Process is
a targeted migration dialogue and a policy process promoting migration partnerships among the countries of the European Union, Schengen area, Eastern Partnership, Western Balkans, Central Asian, as well as Türkiye.
Management Structure
The current Prague Process management structure encompasses the Senior Officials’ meetings, the Ministerial Conferences, the network of National Contact Points, and the Strategic Group.
Prague Process E-Learning Platform
Online tool for safe-paced learning